Products I Regret Buying

Hey Y’all! Today’s post is one I’ve been wanting to do for a while because I always find it helpful when others explain their bad experiences with a product. I just never seemed to have anything to mention because right when I figure out something doesn’t work for me I give it to my mom or one of my friends. But just for the sake of blogging, I saved some products. This includes bath/shower things as well as cosmetics so I hope everyone can find this usefull. So without further ado, the Products I Regret Buying.

Rimmel Exaggerate Lip Liner

This is actually a quality lip liner. It’s a roll up instead of a pencil, so it isn’t uncomfortable to apply. The only problem I have is the color. I stupidly bought the color Innocent, a nude lip liner. I had not yet realized that nude lipstick looks insanely stupid on my rosy pink lips. Not a bad product, just the wrong color.

Image

Revlon Lip Butter/Colorburst

This is actually my favorite formula of lipstick. It’s not drying, not too pigmented, and just settles on my lips beautifully. But alas, I bought the wrong colors. I purchased the colors, Cupcake & Creme Brulee which are both very light colors. I love the formula, hate the colors on me.

I also purchased a lipstick from Revlon’s colorburst line in the color Soft Nude. I bet you can imagine what I don’t like about it. The formula is okay, but since I don’t own any other lipsticks from this line, I have never worn it for more than 5 minutes.

Image

Hard Candy Glow All The Way Illuminators 

I purchased these on a whim while in Walmart. When I first swatched the colors, I really liked it! I thought the color was pretty and was a good consistency, I just never reach for these. I don’t know why, but all my powder highlites get more use and these are bulky and take up a lot of space. Not necessarily a bad product, but I wish I hadn’t purchased them. I have the colors Glamazonian Bronze(a Golden color) & Doll Face(a pinky color).

Image

Hard Candy Boxed Powders

I was excited to get these because they’re supposed to be a dupe for the $28 Benefit boxed powders that I love so very much. Let me tell you, these are not a dupe. The color is patch and extremely strong no matter how lightly you tap your brush. I have the colors Truth or Dare(a light pink with a glittery bronzer) and Hot Flash(4 pink shades that swirl together to become a bright pink). These have a big DO NOT BUY warning from me.

Image

Image

Above: Truth or Dare  Below: Hot Flash

Image

Wet N’ Wild Fergie Eyeshadow Palette

I purchased this because I really wanted to try the formula and I loved the packaging. I got this color because it was the most neutral of them all. It turns out that I never use it. Some of the colors are pretty, but I tend to reach for my Revlon & NYX palettes more.

Image

Image

Maybelline Super Stay 10 Hour Stain Glosses

I essentially bought this because I saw that both Eleventh Gorgeous & Miss Budget Beauty both talked about this product. I stupidly forgot that this was not the good one and purchased it instead of the Lo’real that came out around the same time. This product does not wear well on my lips but instead settles into the crevices and looks silly. The colors all looked very similar so I chose a pink and the crazy purple. Who knows, I might find a use for them. They do smell good.

Image

Forever 21 Body Lotion

This was a serious impulse buy. The products by the line always suck me in! It’s an okay body lotion, but nothing special. It smells good for the time you can smell it, but that is not for long. I think it was around $3.50 so it wasn’t a bad deal for what it does. Since the packaging is pretty, I think I’ll just use it as a display.

Image

Forever 21 Mascara + Lash Serum

This mascara is utter crap. It does absolutely nothing for your eyelashes and is not even worth the couple bucks I blew on it. I haven’t used the serum/treatment yet, but i’m probably going to just trash this. It’s just a waste of space.

Image

Image

Lush Porridge Soap – Link

I was actually really excited about this soap. In middle school I actually has a soap business for my “Home Economics” class so I knew that oatmeal is a really good exfoliator. I could not be more disappointed. This soap is very drying and is not at all worth the seven bucks I paid for it. I have another one of their soaps to try and I’m honestly scared to for fear of disappointment. I will not be repurchasing and will most likely give it to my brother to finish up.

Image

 

I love this brand. I love the formula, I love the color selection, I love the price. I do not love these colors. I purchased Aquamarine, Innocent, and Happy Ending on a whim and really wish I hadn’t. Aquamarine is a deep sea blue which would be very pretty except I look like a middle schooler when I wear it. Since it is such a weird color, I really have no use for it. I might give it to Cy’s little sisters since they are in Middle/Elementary school.

Image

The next color I purchased was Innocent, which is a strange lime green color. I actually had hope for this one. I have another lime green by Sally Hansen (Link) that is completely wearable and springtimey, and beautiful, so I’ll most likely stick with that.

Image

And last but not least, Happy Ending. I just realized it now, but this one might be trying to go along with Shrek. I mean, it’s basically a Shrek green. If you like Shrek greens, then this is the polish for you. If not, I would steer clear.

Image

Image

Mac Matchmaster Foundation

I was so excited about this purchase. It was my 18th birthday and my mom decided that I needed a good foundation because I was an adult. It was my first time ever getting anything from Mac and I actually got to go to the Mac counter and have them do my makeup. It looked beautiful in the store and I was psyched to begin wearing it. Flash forward two days when I sadly discovered that this foundation breaks me out like crazy. I mean I have never seen so many pimples on my face in my lifetime, and that is including middle school! I really want to love this product, but I sadly cannot. I did also purchase the Charged Water Moisturizer at the same time and I love that to pieces. I seriously suggest steering clear of the Mac foundation if you are prone to breakouts. It’s not worth the money.

Image

Image

Thats it! I hope you enjoyed this post and it helps you decide what to try in the future. If you have tried any of the products I mentioned or want to let me know a product you regret buying, leave me a comment down below. Happy Beautifying!

2 thoughts on “Products I Regret Buying

  1. Love this post! I think we’ve all regretted colors we purchased! I have that Sinful colors “Innocent” that I used AWHILE ago in a mani on my blog. It’s totally not wearable on by itself! I’m also AGAINST Mac foundation. I, too, said to myself “I’m getting older, I should spend money on foundation!” Wrong. I am now a Clinique girl when it comes to foundation (anti-blemish solutions). I still spend the money, but it’s been worth it!

Leave a Reply

